Bible Studies

Ladies’ Bible Studies

After God’s Own Heart: A Study of 1 and 2 Samuel
January 15 – April 1, Wednesday mornings, 9:30 – 11 a.m. (with childcare) AND Wednesday evenings, 7- 8 p.m.
Taught by Alyson Averitt at PPC

This spring, we will begin 2 Samuel and continue to follow the life of David, a shepherd boy who became a warrior, a poet, an outlaw, a prophet, and the king of Israel. Despite all of these accomplishments, it is striking how very relatable David is: brave and self-giving, but also self-centered, subject to the temptations of sin. Above all else, David valued his relationship with God and humbled himself before Him in trust and submission. He was an imperfect man after God’s own heart: a man who points us to the true and perfect King of Israel, our Lord Jesus Christ. If you have any questions, please email Alyson Averitt at alyson.averitt@providencedallas.com.


Men’s Bible Studies

The Gospel According to Luke
Tuesdays from 7:30 to 8:45 p.m. at PPC beginning on January 14
Taught by Grant Simmons (gsimmons04@gmail.com) and Jeff Crow (jeffecrow@gmail.com)

Luke says he wrote his account so “that you may have certainty concerning the things you have been taught.” If you would like to study more of the certain account of our Lord Jesus Christ, please come join us on Thursday evenings for study and fellowship.


Ezra and Nehemiah
Wednesdays at 7 a.m. at PPC beginning on January 15
Taught by Dick Lewis (rlewhome@yahoo.com) and Ken Hargrove (kwhargrove@yahoo.com)

This semester, we will be studying Nehemiah 8-13, followed by the book of Zechariah. On the first Wednesday of each month, we will meet at a restaurant for prayer, fellowship and breakfast, and on the other Wednesdays, we will meet at the church for the study.


The Book of Joshua
Wednesdays from 11:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. at PPC beginning on January 15 (lunch is provide)
Taught by Nate Libby (nate.libby@providencedallas.com)

This spring the Wednesday lunch men’s study will take a closer look at the book of Joshua. James Montgomery Boyce writes, “Joshua was one of the most extraordinary military commanders of all time. But what sets Joshua apart from his predecessors and successors was his obedience to the word of God.” We will look at this great story of obedience and see how it commends us to better study God’s word and points us to the one who displayed the greatest act of obedience.


Reading Through the Christian Classics
Thursdays at 7 a.m. at PPC beginning on January 17
Taught by Michael Breed (michael.breed@gmail.com), Graham Averitt (gcaveritt@hotmail.com), Joshua Kipp (joshua.kipp@gmail.com) and Teddy Chu (teddychu822@yahoo.com)

Though many Christians want to read through the classics of the faith, few of us have the motivation to actually make it happen. During this study, we’ll work through several classic works together. The study will begin by reading J.I. Packer’s short, yet powerful book, “Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God.”